Saturday, December 5, 2009

Is Traffic in Thailand Chaotic?

Many first time visitors to Thailand are complaining of heavy traffic and they say I would not dare to drive here. However, I went to Thailand for many years and I see chaos. Why? The answer lies in your expectations. In the west of the traffic rules are strictly enforced, the fines are very expensive, and those rules are followed. Therefore, when you drive, expect others to follow the rules. That is breaking the rules makes people uncomfortable. Someone interrupts and Honk your horn in anger. Some do not give "right of way 'and they feel their rights have been violated. The driver makes a mistake of some sort, and everyone is angry with him." Where'd you learn to drive! "" No can read the sign? "All goes well until everyone follows the rules. This system works very well in Western countries, apart from occasional bouts of road rage. But - what if there are no rules? Or, if anyone care about them? Here in Thailand, no one expects all to follow traffic rules to a T. That there are, but are more oriented to the hard and fast rules. A Thai driver knows that every time a motion could be on your right or left, or on your rear bumper, and probably within an inch of his car. He should not be different. He also knows that their "right of passage" will be violated at times so expect to and do not get all bent out of shape when it happens. Normally, no one gets angry when cut, because sometimes it is not clear exactly who can go first, so it is best to be polite. It is absolutely against the Thai culture for show anger in any case. There are road signs, so many, so they can break so many rules. Everyone knows that some people do not stop when the light turns red, so it is best to let them go first. Nobody gives you the finger, because nobody gets mad. honked their horns not much. That yes, this applies only to Thailand. If you go to Vietnam, for example, all honking their horn about every 5 seconds, reasons I could never understand. It's like a bad habit. If a vehicle is 50 meters, start playing the horn. If only for the machine runs, the horn is definitely working. And "the most important part of the vehicle. And not allow them to avoid accidents or, I've noticed. If everyone is playing everyone else just becomes background noise. There is an alarm again. But back to Thailand. The chaos that exists only when it is expected that there should be. But if one accepts that things are more fluid and that the rules are not always met, and if instead of relying on fixed rules, just use common sense, not only ride well in Thailand. And do not forget that a motorcycle or a dozen of them can be on both sides of you. If there now, soon, you can be sure. There are thousands of motorcycles from all over Thailand. Someone stops and someone will go the wrong way, and someone will come to their "right of passage". Bicycles are woven in and out and pass through the lines of cars to pass before them. If it is not expected to be different, which seems chaotic at all and there is no reason to be angry. As the Thais say "MaiPenRai" - not a big problem, no problem. Here is the outlook for driving in Thailand: Instead of calling traffic chaos "can be called" liquid. "Instead of insisting on" rights "can only go with the flow. Instead of requiring the discipline of others, be always ready for the unexpected. Rather than alter any driver, try to smile in place. You will fit right and the traffic will be miraculously quite normal and chaotic.

No comments:

Post a Comment